

The Convocation of the University of Cape Town Special General Meeting

Agenda for the Special General Meeting of Convocation to be held on Tuesday, 28 May 2024 at 17h00. This is a virtual meeting, taking place on the Microsoft Teams platform.

Meetings of Convocation are restricted to members of Convocation and to facilitate online access to the meeting members will be required to register for this purpose, and do so by Friday, 17 May 2024. (The notice of the meeting which was released on 6 May 2024 provided the meeting link for registration purposes.)

Agenda:

- 1. Register and apologies.
- 2. The Convocation, at its AGM of December 2023, confirmed that a special general meeting be convened. The purpose of this meeting is to consider the following items:
 - 2.1 The resolution taken at the AGM of Convocation on 8 December 2022, and as confirmed at the AGM of 7 December 2023:
 - a) Convocation expresses its concern with the ongoing senior leadership problems at the University.
 - b) The AGM of Convocation requests that the UCT Council finalises the investigation panel as soon as possible.
 - c) Convocation calls a special general meeting to discuss these matters at the soonest possible time after Council meets to discuss the Panel's report put to it.
 - d) Convocation asks the Chair of Council to attend a special general meeting of Convocation to discuss the outcome of the report by the Panel.
 - 2.2 The resolution taken at the AGM of Convocation on 7 December 2023.

University management should report back to Convocation on its recent meeting with the Portfolio Committee on Higher Education, Science and Innovation of the Parliament of South Africa.

Royston Pillay Registrar and Secretary of Convocation 10 May 2024

Note:

The Convocation consists of -

- (a) the graduates and all holders of diplomas and credit-bearing certificates of the University;
- (b) the vice-chancellor, the deputy vice-chancellors and the academic staff; and
- (c) those former professors and associate professors elected by the senate to be emeritus professors or emeritus associate professors.